VP for Print Candidate Announced, Second Nomination Period Begins

Yvonne Leow runs for AAJA National VP for Print

yvonne new headshot
About Yvonne Leow
Yvonne Leow is the video editor for Digital First Media’s Project Thunderdome, an initiative aimed to support local newspapers across 21st-Century Media and MediaNews Group. Leow was the recipient of the Ford Foundation’s NewU Fellowship Program in 2011 and serves as a member of AAJA’s National Governing Board. To learn more about Yvonne, please visit: yvonneleow.tumblr.com.



An excerpt from Leow’s candidate statement:

As journalists, we are living reminders that our craft is undergoing an incredible transformation. It is not always easy, but change is an opportunity for reinvention. It is a chance to defy expectations. And I am running for Vice President for Print because I believe it is time for AAJA to do the same.


Second Nomination Period Begins June 21, 2013

The Asian American Journalists Association is accepting nominations for National Secretary beginning June 21, and ending July 10. This volunteer position is a two-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2014.

Click here for the nomination form.

The secretary shall keep, or cause to be kept, a book of minutes at the principal office or such other place as the board of directors may order, of all meetings of the directors and membership. Minutes shall include time and place of the meeting; whether regular or special, and if special, how authorized; the type of notice given; the name of those present at the directors’ meetings; the number of members present; and the proceedings of the meeting.


ELIGIBILITY. Only full and student AAJA members are eligible to vote in AAJA elections. If you have questions regarding your membership, please contact the AAJA National Office: Support@aaja.org or 415-346-2051, ext. 105.
INSTRUCTIONS. Electronic ballots will be submitted through the online service Balloteer.com. Ballots will be accepted from 8:00 A.M. PST, August 1, 2013 to 12:00 P.M. PST, August 23, 2013. Eligible voters will receive an email notice with secure credentials to cast their electronic ballot.
ELECTION RESULTS. Election results will be announced during the AAJA Gala & Scholarship Awards Banquet on August 24, 2013, at the 2013 AAJA National Convention in New York City.


All deadlines are set at Pacific Standard Time.

JUNE 3, 5:00 P.M. Nomination period begins
JUNE 17, 5:00 P.M. Nomination period ends
JUNE 21, 5:00 P.M. Second nomination period begins
JUNE 21, 5:00 P.M. Announcement of official VP for Print candidates
JULY 10, 5:00 P.M. Second nomination period ends
JULY 12, 5:00 P.M. Announcement of official Secretary candidates
AUGUST 1, 8:00 A.M. Voting period begins
AUGUST 22, 12:00 P.M. Voter eligibility deadline
AUGUST 23, 12:00 P.M. Voting period ends, votes tallied, results certified
AUGUST 23, 7:00 P.M. Announcement of Officers-elect at the Convention Gala and Awards Banquet in New York







Questions or concerns? Please contact AAJA National Secretary Theodore Kim, this year’s elections officer.