MediaWatch Committee

MediaWatch holds news media organizations accountable to standards of accuracy and fairness in the coverage of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders and AAPI issues. In consultation with AAJA’s president, the all-volunteer committee considers and issues statements on AAJA’s behalf.

Chris Casquejo, MediaWatch Committee

Chris Casquejo is a regional correspondent for CCTV America based in Seattle. Previously, Chris covered state politics for seven network affiliated stations in Florida, including WFLA in Tampa and WPTV in West Palm Beach. He’s worked as a general assignment reporter at stations in Kentucky, Illinois, Indiana and Michigan. Chris was born and raised in Detroit. He attended Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism in Evanston, IL.


Ti-Hua Chang

Ti-Hua Chang is an award-winning journalist at WNYW/Fox 5. On 9/11, he was the first reporter to inform the public on that day’s number of causalities. In 1996, he won the Peabody Award for a series of reports he filed on accused drug-dealing murderers. He received an Edward R. Murrow Award in 2005 for a piece exposing police use of infrared equipment to spy on private citizens. Chang has also won five Emmys. A graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism, Chang was named by Columbia in 2004 as one of 10 most influential Columbia alumni in New York City, where he resides with his family.


Jonathan Choe, MediaWatch Committee

Jonathan Choe is a general assignment reporter for KMSP FOX 9 in Minneapolis. Prior to Choe’s current stint in Minneapolis, he served as an adjunct professor for Columbia College Chicago’s Journalism Department. He also worked as a general assignment reporter in Chicago for Tribune Co.’s CLTV, WCIA-3 CBS in Champaign, IL and was a writer at NECN and WHDH NBC in Boston, MA. Choe received his undergraduate degree in broadcast journalism from Boston University’s College of Communications. He’s currently a student liaison for the Asian American Journalists Association’s Minneapolis chapter and also served as co-president of the New England Chapter.


Kuo_IrisIris Kuo is a seasoned business and energy journalist who reports on the U.S. oil industry for top energy news wire Argus Media in Houston. Previously, she led green energy investment coverage for tech news outlet VentureBeat and served as an international correspondent for the Wall Street Journal in Hong Kong. Her work has also appeared in the Houston Chronicle, North Texas Public Radio and on the front pages of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and Miami Herald. She has reported on everything from the soaring price of tea leaves in China to golf course brawls in Houston. Outside of work, she is leading development of an app that will quantify and bring attention to the gender gap among senior leaders of major brands. She served as chapter president of AAJA Texas from 2010-12.


Ling Woo Liu

Ling Woo Liu is the Director of Communications and Community Engagement at the Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health. Prior to her current role, she worked in Asian American civil rights for five years. As the director of the Fred Korematsu Institute, she launched a national curriculum program and helped pass Fred Korematsu Day, the first day in U.S. history named after an Asian American. Before joining the non-profit sector, she spent a decade as a multimedia journalist, most recently as a reporter for TIME in Hong Kong. She is an alumnus of the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism.


Harry Mok, MediaWatch Committee

Harry Mok is a writer, editor and social media manager for the University of California Office of the President. He is a former editor in chief of Hyphen magazine, an Asian American news and culture magazine produced by an all-volunteer staff. Before joining UC, he was a Web producer for the Bay Area News Group (San Jose Mercury News, Oakland Tribune, Contra Costa Times), a copy editor for the San Francisco Chronicle, online editor for He has also worked for Newsday, the San Francisco Examiner and the Associated Press.


Doris Truong

Doris Truong is a homepage editor at The Washington Post, where she co-chairs the newsroom Diversity Committee. Before moving to the digital side, she was a longtime multiplatform editor for The Post and a copy editor at the Dallas Morning News. She helped edit The Post’s Jack Abramoff investigative reporting package that won the 2006 Pulitzer Prize. Wayne State chose her for its Spirit of Diversity Award in 2014. In 2013, she received the American Copy Editors Society’s Robinson Prize, recognizing substantial contributions to the craft of copy editing. She was the 2011-12 AAJA national president and is vice president of UNITY: Journalists for Diversity. She has been a faculty member at the Poynter Institute and a presenter to international audiences. Truong is a graduate of the Missouri School of Journalism and a Smithsonian-exhibited photographer. Find her at and @doristruong.



Martyn Williams is a senior correspondent at IDG News Service in San Francisco. Previously, he was a 2011-12 Knight Journalism Fellow at Stanford University. He arrived in California from a 16-year stint in Tokyo where he served as bureau chief for IDG covering the IT and electronics industry in Japan and South Korea. He is a former president of the Foreign Correspondents Club of Japan, runs the North Korea Tech website and covered the 2011 Japanese earthquake and tsunami for Voice of America.