AAJA Board of Directors

AAJA is guided by its Governing Board, with the counsel of its Advisory Board.

The 11-member Governing Board is comprised of AAJA’s six National Officers plus five members elected from the Advisory Board.

The Governing Board guides the organization to ensure AAJA is fulfilling its mission, meeting the needs of its constituencies and operating legally, effectively and efficiently.

Governing Board

  • President: PAUL CHEUNG, Director of Interactive & Digital News Production, Associated Press
  • Vice President for Broadcast: NIALA BOODHOO, Startup Host/Executive Producer, “The 21st,” WILL/Illinois Public Media
  • National Senior Vice President: MICHELLE LEE, Reporter, “The Fact Checker,” The Washington Post
  • National Vice President for Journalism Programs: YVONNE LEOW, Revenue Strategy Team, VoxMedia
  • Treasurer: SHAWN NICOLE WONG, Project Manager, JWA Urban Consultants, IC. + JWA Roam
  • Secretary: NICOLE DUNGCA, Transportation Reporter, The Boston Globe
  • Small/Medium Chapter Representative: ESTHER GIM, Freelance Copy Editor, Mic & Metro Times
  • Small/Medium Chapter Representative: JOY LIM NAKRIN, Anchor/Reporter, NBC Boston
  • Large Chapter RepresentativeMATT STEVENS, Reporter, The Los Angeles Times
  • At-Large Chapter Representative: JULIANNE CHIAET, Science Journalist, LabRoots
  • At-Large Chapter Representative: LAUREN HARDIE, Freelance Copy Editor, The Daily Beast

The Advisory Board is comprised of Chapter Board Representatives elected by their chapter’s members. The advisory board advises the governing board to ensure AAJA chapters’ interests are represented in the organization, and AAJA’s interests in the chapters.

Both the Governing and Advisory boards also build connections between AAJA, the news industry, the Asian American Pacific Islander community and the general public.

Advisory Board

  • Arizona: AMY B WANG, Reporter, The Arizona Republic
  • Asia: K. OANH HA, Asia Consumer News Team Leader, Bloomberg News, and BLESSING WAUNG, Editor-in-Chief, American Chamber of Commerce Hong Kong
  • Atlanta: JACQUELINE GULLEDGECross Platform Associate Producer, CNN
  • Chicago: GRACE WONG, Reporter, Chicago Tribune
  • Florida: LAUREN HARDIE, Freelance Copy Editor, The Daily Beast
  • Hawai’i: WES NAKAMA, Assistant Director of Information, Hawai’i High School Athletic Association
  • Los Angeles: FRANK SHYONG, Reporter, The Los Angeles Times, and MATT STEVENS, Reporter, The Los Angeles Times
  • Michigan: ESTHER GIM, Freelance Copy Editor, Mic & Metro Times
  • Minnesota: NANCY YANG, Digital Producer, Minnesota Public Radio News
  • New England: JOY LIM NAKRIN, Anchor/Reporter, NBC Boston
  • New YorkJULIANNE CHIAET, Science Journalist, LabRoots, and SHIRLEY LEW, Host, MTTN-TV
  • North Carolina: FRANK VINLUAN, Freelance Business Reporter
  • Philadelphia: DAVID LIMM, Online Editor, Philadelphia Public School Notebook
  • Portland: PETER WONG, Regional Reporter, The Portland Tribune/Pamplin Media Group
  • Sacramento: PAMELA WU, Director of Marketing and Communications, University of California, Davis School of Law
  • San Diego: LIBERTY ZABALA, Reporter, NBC San Diego
  • San Francisco Bay Area: KEVIN LEE, Staff Writer, Daily Journal Corp
  • Seattle: CORINNE CHIN, Video Editor, The Seattle Times
  • Texas: ANGELA CHEN, Reporter, Fox 26 Houston
  • Washington, D.C.: SCOTT B. WONG, Senior Staff Writer, The Hill

UNITY Board Representatives

  • UNITY President-Elect: NEAL JUSTIN, TV Critic/Intern Coordinator, The Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • AAJA Representative: HAILEY LEE, Producer, CNBC’s Power Lunch
  • AAJA Representative: MI-AI PARRISH, President & Publisher, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

RTDNA Representative

ACEJMC Council Representative

  • MEI-LING HOPGOOD, Associate Professor, Northwestern University Medill School of Journalism