Top-notch Students Selected for JCamp 2013

AAJA is proud to announce the 42 outstanding high school students who will be attending the 2013 JCamp at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The six-day program will be held June 21 to 26 and will conclude with an all-star reception at the American Society of News Editors convention.

The multicultural group, selected from hundreds of applicants, represents some of the finest teenage reporters, photographers and broadcasters in the country. All chosen participants attend at no charge.

“JCamp is one of AAJA’s signature programs that teaches students how to be better journalists and better leaders,” said AAJA President Paul Cheung, who has served on the all-volunteer staff for several years. “Our students and faculty members also inspire me to be a better journalist.”

There have been more than 450 graduates since the program began in 2001. Many have gone on to journalism careers, including Arelis Hernandez, an Orlando Sentinel reporter, who will become the first faculty member in JCamp’s history to serve as an instructor. This marks the second time JCamp has been held on the GWU campus, with the university’s School of Media and Public Affairs hosting the program this year.

JCamp is able to offer free tuition and cover the students’ expenses thanks to generous contributions, including The Annie E. Casey Foundation. “JCamp gives students the confidence to test out their own professional aspirations in a rich and supportive learning environment,” said Patrick T. McCarthy, president and CEO of The Annie E. Casey Foundation. “We are especially pleased to support JCamp because we believe strongly in giving young people a voice, increasing their opportunities for future leadership and making a strong connection to their communities.”

Returning as JCamp directors are:

  • Clea Benson, Reporter, Bloomberg News
  • Neal Justin, TV critic, Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • Lorene Yue, Reporter, Crain’s Chicago Business

This year’s faculty includes:

  • Bobby Caina Calvan, Freelancer, Washington D.C.
  • Paul Cheung, Global Interactive Editor, Associated Press
  • Kyndell Harkness, Photographer, Minneapolis Star Tribune
  • Arelis Hernandez, Reporter, Orlando Sentinel
  • Caridad Hernandez, Executive Producer for Investigations and Special Projects, CBS4 in Miami
  • Richard Lui, Anchor, NBC News/MSNBC

This year’s students are:

Kaily Toney Westwood High School Scottsdale Arizona
Cheyenna Wallen Moon Valley High School Phoenix Arizona
Carlos Godoy Daniel Pearl Magnet School Van Nuys California
Brian Kim Van Nuys High School Northridge California
Yulian Liang Balboa High School San Francisco California
Yasmeen Mussard-Afcari Berkeley High School Berkeley California
Yashashree Pisolkar Monta Vista High School Cupertino California
Christopher Sun Northwood High School Irvine California
Qi Liao Fairview High School Superior Colorado
Katie Lamont East Lake High School Palm Harbor Florida
Ellen Pham Chamberlain High School Tampa Florida
Carina Tillan Nova High School Hallandale Florida
Katie Atkinson Union Grove High School McDonough Georgia
Mehul Bhagat Peachtree Ridge High School Suwanee Georgia
Zani Nobles Riverwood International Charter School Atlanta Georgia
Camille Park Glenbrook South High School Glenview Illinois
Annie Schugart Saint Thomas Aquinas High School Overland Park Kansas
Ramanan Sivakumar Blue Valley North High School Overland Park Kansas
Jebari Lewis Oliver Perry Walker New Orleans Louisiana
Patrick Cha Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School Chevy Chase Maryland
Meron Begashaw Oxon Hill School Fort Washington Maryland
Chi-Emeka Egwuagu The Academy of Holy Cross Silver Spring Maryland
Shane Rabinowitz Friends School of Balitimore Baltimore Maryland
Alexander Suh St. Albans School Chevy Chase Maryland
Elsa Bollinger West Fargo High School Mapleton North Dakota
Emily Chen The Hun School East Brunswick New Jersey
Ziyi Liu Princeton High School Cranbury New Jersey
Daniel Qian East Brunswick High School East Brunswick New Jersey
Marcelo Jaimes-Lukes Elisabeth Irwin High School Brooklyn New York
Denae Jones Bronx Studio School for Writers and Artists Bronx New York
Nicole Sanchez Stuyvesant High School Elmhurst New York
Daphne Ocran Lakota East High School Liberty Township Ohio
Anisha Datta Glencoe High School Hillsboro Oregon
Daphne Martin Madison High School Portland Oregon
Cade May Grant High School Portland Oregon
Kyah Hawkins Constitution High School Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Jenny Zhang Central Bucks East High School Furlong Pennsylvania
Monica Garcia Jersey Village High School Houston Texas
Justin Lai Westwood High School Austin Texas
Shane Lewis Hanna High School Brownsville Texas
Basundhara Mukherjee South Burlington High School South Burlington Vermont
Maya Shelton-Davies River Falls High School River Falls Wisconsin


JCamp 2013 is made possible by a grant from The Annie E. Casey Foundation. Additional support is provided by The George Washington University’s School of Media and Public Affairs, the Dow Jones Foundation, Bloomberg, CNN, CBS, Gannett, General Motors, Hillshire Brands, The New York Times, the Dow Jones News Fund, NBC, AAJA-Chicago, AAJA-Philadelphia and AAJA-Washington, D.C.