AAJA Member News: March 2013 Roundup



Dennis Clemente (AAJA-New York) was the recipient of a Plaridel Award for Outstanding Commentary with his article, “Is It Okay to Lose Your Language? Not For These FilAms,” in the Philippine Daily Inquirer. As a contributor to the Philippine Daily Inquirer, he covers news, lifestyle features, business and entertainment and blogs at reimaginetech.com and americanizewho.com. Clemente has been a member of AAJA since 2004.




Betty Lin-Fisher (AAJA-At-Large) is the first Asian American recipient of the 2013 Robert G. McGruder Diversity in Media Distinguished Leadership Award at Kent State University in Ohio. She is a consumer reporter, columnist and a general business reporter for the Akron Beacon Journal.  Her previous awards include a 2009 Society of Business Editors and Writers Best in Business Projects for her Reclaim the Dream series, plus recognition from the Society of Professional Journalists and the Cleveland Press Club.  She is a previous AAJA Mary Moy Quan Scholarship recipient and a graduate of the 2003 AAJA Executive Leadership Program.


K.W. LEEKyung Won Lee (AAJA-Sacramento) has been recognized as a distinguished alumnus of West Virginia University. The Korean American journalist’s series of investigatory pieces on Chol Soo Lee, a Korean immigrant who was wrongfully convicted in 1973 for murder, led to a retrial and subsequent acquittal.  Kyung Won Lee founded Koreatown Weekly, the first national English-language Korean American publication, and established the English Edition of the Korea Times in Los Angeles.  He also established the Korean American Journalists Association.  During his career, he has received a plethora of awards and distinctions, including AAJA’s Lifetime Achievement Award, the Human Relations Commission of Los Angeles County’s John Anson Ford Award and the Freedom Forum’s Free Spirit Award.

DinahEng_webDinah Eng (AAJA-Los Angeles) is a 2013 Best in Business winner from the Society of American Business Editors and Writers, for the ongoing feature “How I Started” in Fortune Magazine.  She a contributing writer for Fortune Magazine and is a columnist and freelance writer for Scripps Howard News Service. Eng has received numerous awards, including the Columbia University Distinguished Service to Journalism Award and the National Association of Minority Media Executives Lawrence Young Breakthrough Award.  She is a past president of AAJA. Eng founded AAJA’s Executive Leadership Program and served as its director for its first 15 years.


TomLee_webThomas Lee (AAJA-Minnesota) has won two awards, in the Breaking News and the Features categories, from the Society of American Business Editors and Writers for his coverage on Best Buy. The Star Tribune has also nominated Lee’s work for the Pulitzer Prize. Lee has written for the Star Tribune, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Seattle Times and China Daily USA. He also served as Minnesota Bureau Chief for MedCityNews.com and Detroit Bureau Chief and National Medical Device Editor for Xconomy.com.  He is a former Voices Editor, Minnesota chapter president, an AAJA national vice president for print and a 2005 graduate of AAJA’s Executive Leadership Program.


LoreneYue_webLorene Yue (AAJA-Chicago) is a 2013 Best in Business winner from the Society of American Business Editors and Writers. Her package, “The Cost of Crime: The Story of Austin,” was one of three feature winners in the print, weeklies category.  Yue is a business reporter at Crain’s Chicago Business who has worked for the Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press , Kansas City Star and The Journal-News in Hamilton, Ohio. She is a longtime member of AAJA and was named Chapter President of the Year in 2007. She is currently a co-director of the JCamp high school journalism program.


To submit your own Member News, send a 30- to 40-word write-up (subject to editing) with a biography and a photo to AAJA’s National Office.

See what our Members accomplished in 2012
See what our Members accomplished in January 2013
See what our Members accomplished in February 2013