Upcoming Member Opportunities

AAJA will post upcoming conferences, workshops, webinars and more on this page regularly. Be sure to bookmark it and check back periodically.


N3 Conference

Type: Conference/Award

Location: Seoul, South Korea

Deadline for Registration: May 22, 2015

The New. Now. Next Media (N3) Conference will take place May 22 – 24 in Seoul, South Korea. This conference was organized by the Asia chapter of AAJA. This is an annual conference that aims to: help experienced journalists 1) expand their skills in new media, 2) attain needed skills for success, 3) build an international network, 4) dive into the biggest stories in Asia; 5) discuss ideas on the challenges of working in Asia. Visit N3 2015 online to take a peek at their dynamic speakers lists. This is sure to be an event you don’t want to miss, so secure your registration today. The deadline to register online is May 22.

AAJA-Asia is also offering the AAJA-Asia Google Digital Journalism Award. The selected winner will receive $1,000 USD and a $500 travel stipend to attend N3 2015. The deadline has been extended until April 30. Be sure to learn more information on eligibility and application requirements today.


City University London – International Journalism M.A.

Type: Graduate program

Location: London, United Kingdom

Deadline for Application: May 30, 2015

City University London offers a one-year practice-based degree program for both experienced and entering career journalists. The International Journalism M.A. will develop your skills in print, radio, TV and online journalism. This program centers on research, reporting and understanding global journalism. This one-year program begins September 14, 2015.

Interested to learn more, visit City University London online. View details about the International Journalism degree and application eligibility. There are also scholarships available to international and UK based students. If you would like to contact someone at City University London email your questions to journalism@city.ac.uk. The deadline to submit your application is May 30.


BHSI Fellowship

Type: Fellowship/Award

Location: Chicago, Illinois

Deadline for Application: June 2, 2015

The Bluhm/Helfand Social Innovation Fellowship is now accepting applications. Applicants from for-profit or nonprofit ventures that address social problems and can demonstrate a model with proven results may apply. Selected fellows will receive $10,000 financial support for their venture and will present their venture at Chicago Ideas Week. This opportunity is all expenses paid.

Applicants must be 35 years of age or younger and can be from anywhere in the world. Please visit BHSIF online for detailed information on eligibility. If you have questions about the fellowship contact Jessica Malkin at info@bluhmhelfand.com. The deadline to submit all materials is June 2.


Eugene C. Pulliam Fellowship

Type: Fellowship

Location: Varies

Deadline for Application: June 22, 2015

The Eugene C. Pulliam Fellowship is available to mid-career editorial writers or columnists working for U.S. media outlets. Editorial writers are encouraged to apply to this $75,000 fellowship. An editorial writer or columnists will be selected to receive $75,000 to either take courses, travel, pursue independent study or pursue other enriching endeavors to enhance their research on a public issue. Fellow must publish their work within 18 months of selection.

For more information in regards to eligibility and application requirements visit the Pulliam Fellowship website. To learn more about the Society of Professional Journalists and other interesting opportunities like this one visit www.spj.org. The deadline to apply for this opportunity is June 22.


Richard J. Margolis Award

Type: Award

Deadline for Submission: July 1, 2015

Journalists whose projects reflect a concern for social justice can apply for this award. The Richard J. Margolis Award of Blue Mountain Center is given annually to a journalist or essayist who has combined humor and wisdom to address social issues. The winner will receive a US$5,000 prize, along with a one-month residency at Blue Mountain Center, a writers and artists colony in Blue Mountain Lake, New York.

The award was created in honor of Richard J. Margolis, a journalist, essayist and poet who brought light to hardships faced by subgroups including migrant farm workers, the elderly and Native Americans. Find out more.


Jack Wadsworth Fellows Program

Type: Fellowship

Location: Multiple

Deadline for Application: Rolling

The Wadsworth Fellow will plan a series of cross-Center business initiatives, including programs, conferences, seminars, and roundtable discussions, designed to stimulate discussion across a range of topics and geographic locations.

The committee is looking for accomplished, senior-level individuals with extensive expertise in and knowledge of the business and trade relationship between the U.S. and Asia. Applicants for Wadsworth Fellows should meet the following criteria:

A journalist, academic, or business leader with deep expertise in the Asia-Pacific region and business and trade issues between the U.S. and Asia. A period of residence in Asia would be an important consideration.

Visit asiasociety.org for application information.