AAJA Asia Hangout: Occupy Hong Kong Deconstructed

This video has been edited from the live broadcast via YouTube on Sunday Oct. 19 10:00 – 10:45 PM HKT | 10:00 – 10:45 AM EST | 7:00 – 7:45 am PST

Umbrellas defending from tear gas. Songs of freedom echoing in rainstorms. Tent cities springing up.  Smartphone lights dancing in the air. These are the sights and sounds of Hong Kong’s pro-democracy protests that have gripped this city for more than half a month. Media coverage has come fast and furious but how fair and how well have the protests been covered? What questions still must be asked?

Join AAJA Asia for an online discussion on Google Hangout with local, on-the-ground journalists covering Hong Kong’s unprecedented pro-democracy protests:

Speakers:
  • Erik MAK Ka Wai, Producer, Presenter, Public and Current Affairs Section, Radio Television Hong Kong
  • Leon Lee, Web Editor, Young Post, South China Morning Post
  • Zoe Hung, Executive Committee Member, Hong Kong Journalists Association
Host
  • Zela Chin, Senior Producer/Reporter, News & Information Services, Television Broadcasts

Details