AAJA appoints Neal Justin as representative to UNITY

Neil_JustinAAJA’s governing board voted to approve Neal Justin as AAJA’s representative to the UNITY Board, replacing Doris Truong.

Neal was one of the original members of the AAJA governing board and was named AAJA member of the year in 2006. He also served as AAJA president for the Minnesota chapter and as the convention co-chair in 2005. He is a co-founder of JCamp, a national program for the country’s top high-school journalists, which is now entering its 15th year. Neal previously served two years on the UNITY board.

Neal is the media critic for the Minneapolis Star Tribune. He previously covered crime for the Rockford Register Star. His duties at the Star Tribune include helping to run the summer internship program. Neal grew up in Mason City, Iowa and graduated from Northwestern University.

Janet Cho, AAJA’s UNITY Board Representative since 2011, has resigned from the board. I want to thank Janet for her leadership and service to UNITY and AAJA for so many years. It was important to have someone with Janet’s institutional knowledge in the room. Janet is a business reporter for the Cleveland Plain Dealer. If you are interested in serving as AAJA’s UNITY representative, please contact me (pcheung@aaja.org) by Friday, January 23rd.

Tomoko Hosaka, who joined the UNITY board last year, will continue to represent AAJA in 2015.

UNITY: Journalists for Diversity, an alliance of three journalism organizations, is the nation’s most diverse journalism organization. A coalition of the Asian American Journalists Association, the National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association and the Native American Journalists Association, UNITY is a strategic alliance that advocates for fair and accurate news coverage about people of color, LGBT issues and aggressively challenges news organizations to increase diversity at all levels.

Featured image by Timmy Huynh