AAJA Announces 2018 Convention Co-Chairs


AAJA is thrilled to announce Michelle Choi and Pooja Lodhia as the 2018 convention co-chairs. The 2018 AAJA National Convention will take place at the Houston Marriott Marquis in Houston, Texas August 8-11, 2018.


Michelle-Choi.jpgMichelle Choi is a reporter and multi-skilled journalist at KHOU 11, the CBS affiliate news station in Houston, Texas. Born in South Korea, Michelle was raised in Houston since the age of three. She received a degree in business marketing from the University of Houston but decided to go after her dream and passion of being a journalist instead. After landing news internships in both Houston and Atlanta, and a brief stop in Tulsa, Michelle became a MMJ/Anchor at KTEN-TV in Ada, Oklahoma, covering a vast range of stories affecting the Texoma (North Texas and Southern Oklahoma) communities for more than two years before joining KHOU 11 earlier this year as a morning reporter. Five months in, she’s had a chance to cover a wide range of stories, including Hurricane Harvey to the Houston Astros' journey in winning the World Series. When she’s not working, Michelle loves to find hidden gem eateries in her hometown as a passionate foodie and is a work in progress yogi. Follow Michelle on Twitter at @MichelleKHOU





Pooja-Lodhia.jpegPooja Lodhia is a general assignment reporter at KTRK, the ABC owned and operated the station in Houston, Texas. She has been at the station for five years and covers both hard news and feature stories. This year, Pooja has covered major events such as Hurricane Harvey, the Super Bowl and the World Series. She has also worked in Louisiana, Michigan and Florida, covering memorable stories such as the final space shuttle launch in Cape Canaveral and a moose on the loose in Michigan. Pooja graduated from Emory University with degrees in English literature and journalism. She received a college scholarship from AAJA and credits the organization with helping to jumpstart her journalism career. Follow Pooja on Twitter at @PoojaOnTv.