Submit Your Work for the 2020 National Journalism Awards


AAJA is proud to announce the call for entries and nominations for the 20202 National Journalism Awards and the 2020 AAJA Lifetime Achievement Award. Award winners will be announced at the 2020 AAJA National Convention in Washington DC. All submissions must be made online using the red links below.




FAQs: 2020 AAJA National Journalism Awards


The 2020 categories are listed below. If your piece deals with members of the Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) community, you may submit it under the AAPI Issues category. Otherwise, you may submit it under the General Excellence category. To submit an entry, click on the appropriate category link:


General Excellence: Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Issues:

Eligibility Requirements: Please see each individual category’s submission form for complete requirements. You may also view general requirements on the National Journalism Awards FAQs page.

***Please note that each entry may only be submitted to ONE award category.***

Entry Fee:

  • Entry fee is waived for current 2020 AAJA members. Renew your membership for 2020.
  • Non-members must pay a non-refundable fee of $100 per entry via credit card.
  • The fee is based on the membership status of entrant (please note: membership is subject to verification).
  • Entry is considered incomplete and ineligible without payment, if applicable.


  • Entries are judged based on the quality of work submitted, regardless of circulation or market size.
  • Judges are professional journalists and change annually.
  • Judges reserve the right to withhold awards if they believe entries are not of winning quality.
  • Winners will be notified in advance of the convention.
  • Entrant need not be present to win.
  • For joint or team entries, all names submitted will be listed on the award.

Deadline: The submission deadline is Sunday, May 31 at 11:59 PM PST.


For more information, see the National Journalism Awards FAQs page, or contact Daniel Garcia, Program Associate, at

Read about 2019’s National Journalism Award winners.

2020 AAJA Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominate an individual who has demonstrated courage and commitment to the principles of journalism over the course of a life’s work, as well as dedication to issues important to the Asian American and Pacific Islander community. Candidates do not need to be AAJA members, and there is no entry fee. Nominate someone today!

Award Prize: An award plaque

Deadline: Sunday, May 31 at 11:59 PM PST

Sharon Chan, Vice President of Philanthropy, The New York Times


Sharon Pian Chan is Vice President of Philanthopy at the New York Times. Previously, she was the Vice Present of Innovation, Product & Development at The Seattle Times. She previously worked as a deputy managing editor, opinion editor and a digital producer. She spent most of her journalism career as a reporter, covering beats ranging from City Hall to Microsoft and interviewing everyone from Christina Aguilera to Steve Ballmer.

Chan is passionate about diversity in journalism and amplifying underrepresented voices and stories in the news. She has served as national president of the Asian American Journalists Association, as vice president for UNITY: Journalists for Diversity and Seattle chapter president for AAJA.

She received her B.A. from Pomona College and her Executive M.B.A. from MIT in 2017. She lives in Seattle’s Eastlake neighborhood with her husband Danny O’Neil, a radio host at 710 ESPN Seattle, and a wrinkly dog.