Digital N3 2018: #RethinkingNews #Asia

     

27023777_2048647595349890_2698084960255008397_o.jpg

Join AAJA-Asia for the first-ever Digital N3, an interactive 90-minute conversation with reporters in Asia and the U.S. taking place in select cities on both continents, connected live via videoconference. The event will take place Friday, February 9 (U.S.) / Saturday, February 10 (Asia). It’s an engaging experience you won’t want to miss.

Join a conversation with news leaders including:

  • Sewell Chan, New York Times International News Editor joining from New York
  • Ken Moritsugu, AP News Editor for Japan and the Koreas joining from Tokyo
  • Annalisa Burgos, ABS-CBN News Channel Anchor & Managing Editor joining from Manila
  • Jodi Schneider, Bloomberg Asia Senior News Editor joining from Hong Kong

This event is FREE for AAJA members, students and Bloomberg staff. A $10 USD donation to AAJA is suggested for non-members.

 

Depending on your location, the event will take place at the times and days listed below:

Friday, February 9 (U.S.)

New York —  7:30pm to 9:00pm

Washington, D.C. — 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Chicago — 6:30pm to 8:00pm

Seattle — 4:30pm to 6:00pm

San Francisco — 4:30pm to 6:00pm

Los Angeles — 4:30pm to 6:00pm

 

Saturday, February 10 (Asia)

Tokyo — 9:30am to 11:00am

Seoul — 9:30am to 11:00am

Hong Kong — 8:30am to 10:00am

Singapore — 8:30am to 10:00am

Bangkok —  7:30am to 9:00am

 

Looking for fresh story ideas that could hit the front page? 

COME get a better view on events and trends in Asia and how it’s impacting American communities from Los Angeles to Chicago.

ENGAGE with journalists on the ground in Asia and the U.S. on the political, cultural and economic themes that connect across the Pacific Ocean. 

LEARN the latest apps, websites and tools to add to your reporting toolbox.

AAJA-Asia is bringing ASIA to your town! Find out where people are meeting in your city and come join the discussion! 

Curious about AAJA-Asia’s New.Now.Next Media Conference, taking place in Hong Kong May 25-27, 2018? Here’s your chance to get a taste of the exciting annual conference that gathers journalists and media professionals across the Asia Pacific region. 



PROGRAM: 

Asia in Your Backyard – 45 minutes

A panel discussion with reporters and editors on the ground in Asia and the U.S. talking about the social, economic and cultural trends coming from Asia that impact the U.S. You will walk away with reporting ideas to pursue come Monday. 

Reporting Tools You Can Use – 45 minutes

What’s the latest in news collecting and verifying information? We'll look at the latest apps and online tools reporters are using. Learn more about the next Twitter or LinkedIn for gathering story ideas and reaching out to sources. A speaker from each city will briefly introduce a tool or an app used in their area. 

 

REGISTRATION DEADLINE:

For U.S. attendees, the deadline to register is Wednesday, February 7 at 6pm ET / 3pm PT. For Asia attendees, the deadline to register is Thursday, February 8 at 12pm Hong Kong time

You will receive details on event location and procedures after registration, including a video conference link for Asia members located outside of a host city.

 

Click here to register

 


Tell us what you think of Digital N3 & Get a Copy of the Reporting Tools Tip Sheet!


Please take a minute to give us feedback your Digital N3 experience. In return, we'll send you a list of all the reporting tools that were discussed. Thank you for your valuable input.

 

Take the survey