AAJA is guided by its Governing Board, with the counsel of its Advisory Board.

The 11-member Governing Board is comprised of AAJA’s six National Officers plus five members elected from the Advisory Board.

The Governing Board guides the organization to ensure AAJA is fulfilling its mission, meeting the needs of its constituencies and operating legally, effectively and efficiently.

Governing Board

  • National President: YVONNE LEOW, Media Consultant, Tangy Media
  • National Senior Vice President: MICHELLE LEE, Reporter, “The Fact Checker,” The Washington Post
  • National Vice President for Journalism ProgramsRAMY INOCENCIO, Anchor/Reporter, Bloomberg TV
  • National Vice President for Civic EngagementPIA SARKAR, East Region Deputy Editor, The Associated Press
  • Treasurer: SHAWN NICOLE WONG, Project Manager, JWA Urban Consultants, IC. + JWA Roam
  • Secretary: NICOLE DUNGCA, Transportation Reporter, The Boston Globe
  • Small/Medium Chapter Representative: ESTHER GIMFreelance Copy EditorMic & Metro Times
  • Small/Medium Chapter Representative: JOY LIM NAKRIN, Anchor/ReporterNBC Boston
  • Large Chapter RepresentativeMATT STEVENSReporter, The Los Angeles Times
  • At-Large Chapter RepresentativeJULIANNE CHIAETScience JournalistLabRoots
  • At-Large Chapter RepresentativeLAUREN HARDIEFreelance Copy EditorThe Daily Beast

The Advisory Board is comprised of Chapter Board Representatives elected by their chapter’s members. The advisory board advises the governing board to ensure AAJA chapters’ interests are represented in the organization, and AAJA’s interests in the chapters.

Both the Governing and Advisory boards also build connections between AAJA, the news industry, the Asian American Pacific Islander community and the general public.

Advisory Board

  • Arizona: NICOLE VASDesigner, Gannett Phoenix Design Studio
  • Asia: K. OANH HA, Asia Consumer News Team Leader, Bloomberg News, and YURI NAGANO, Senior Editor, Mergermarket Group
  • Atlanta: WILLOUGHBY MARIANOReporter, Investigative Team, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
  • Chicago: GRACE WONG, Reporter, Chicago Tribune
  • Florida: LAUREN HARDIE, Freelance Copy Editor, The Daily Beast
  • Hawai’i: WES NAKAMA, Assistant Director of Information, Hawai’i High School Athletic Association
  • Los Angeles: FRANK SHYONG, Reporter, The Los Angeles Times, and MATT STEVENS, Reporter, The Los Angeles Times
  • Michigan: ESTHER GIM, Freelance Copy Editor, Mic & Metro Times
  • Minnesota: NANCY YANG, Digital Producer, Minnesota Public Radio News
  • New England: JOY LIM NAKRIN, Anchor/Reporter, NBC Boston
  • New YorkJULIANNE CHIAETScience Journalist, LabRoots, and SHIRLEY LEW, Host, MTTN-TV
  • North Carolina: FRANK VINLUAN, Freelance Business Reporter
  • Philadelphia: SAMEER RAOCulture Reporter, Colorlines
  • Portland: PETER WONG, Regional Reporter, The Portland Tribune/Pamplin Media Group
  • Sacramento: PAMELA WU, Director of Marketing and Communications, University of California, Davis School of Law
  • San Diego: LIBERTY ZABALA, Reporter, NBC San Diego
  • San Francisco Bay Area: JULIA B. CHAN, Digital Editor, Reveal, Center for Investigative Reporting
  • Seattle: CORINNE CHIN, Video Editor, The Seattle Times
  • Texas: ANGELA CHEN, Reporter, Fox 26 Houston
  • Washington, D.C.: SCOTT B. WONG, Senior Staff Writer, The Hill

UNITY Board Representatives

  • AAJA Representative: CLEA BENSON, Deputy Editor, POLITICO Pro
  • AAJA Representative: MI-AI PARRISH, President & Publisher, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
  • AAJA Representative: PADMA RAMA, Broadcast Journalist, The Associated Press

RTDNA Representative

ACEJMC Council Representative

  • MEI-LING HOPGOOD, Associate Professor, Northwestern University Medill School of Journalism

Become a member