A young sports broadcast journalist who has less than three years of professional experience will receive $2,000 to support their career pursuits in honor of Michael Kim, the godfather of AAJA’s Sports Task Force and a pioneer for Asian Americans in sports broadcast journalism. The scholarship is made possible thanks to the Sports Task Force and a yearly donation by Michael Kim.

Applicants will be selected on the basis of demonstrated journalistic ability, financial need, a strong commitment to the pursuit of a sports journalism career and dedication to AAJA’s mission of advancing Asian Americans and other underrepresented communities in media.

About Michael Kim

Michael Kim is a groundbreaking anchor who opened doors for the Asian community at the Worldwide Leader in Sports. Kim was an anchor at SportsCenter for 17 years and was one of the original anchors who launched the innovate ESPNNews.

Kim now works as the anchor of The Stadium on Marquee Sports Network. Prior to ESPN, Kim won a Sports Emmy Award for Outstanding Show – Daily. Kim is a graduate of the University of Missouri.

Kim has been a proud member of AAJA for years and is a Sports Task Force legend who has supported the group from its inception.

Application Information

APPLICATION DEADLINE: Sunday, Jan. 31, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. PT

The winner will be notified by the end of February. If selected, you will be asked for documentation to support the information you provide. Likewise, all correspondence and award agreements will be generated from the personal information submitted below. So, please use proper spelling, capitalization and punctuation.

Apply Here

Eligibility and Selection Criteria
    • Applicants must work in the broadcast sports industry in some form, either as on-camera talent or behind-the-scenes producer
    • Applicants must be within three years of college graduation and/or in their first television market
    • Applicants must demonstrate financial need
    • The selected scholarship recipient must commit to a minimum of five hours of volunteer work for the AAJA Sports Task Force

Michael Kim Broadcast Fellowship Recipients by Year