Board of Directors

AAJA is led by its national Board of Directors with the counsel of its Advisory Board.

The 11-member board is composed of AAJA’s six national officers plus five members elected from the Advisory Board.

The board ensures AAJA is fulfilling its mission, meeting the needs of its members and operating legally, effectively, and efficiently.


Michelle Lee
Political Enterprise and
Accountability Reporter,
The Washington Post

Senior Vice President

Nicole Dungca
Investigative Reporter,
The Washington Post

Vice President of Journalism Programs

Kris Vera-Phillips
Adjunct Professor & PhD Student, Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Vice President Of Civic Engagement

Julia B. Chan, 2021-2022
Editor-in-Chief, The 19th News

Pia Sarkar, 2019-2020
Business Editor, Associated Press

Vice President of Finance

Jin Ding, 2021-2022
Chief of Staff, The Center for Public Integrity

Ted Han, 2019-2020 term
Product Manager, Mozilla

Vice President of Communications

Shirley Qiu
Audience Engagement Strategist
American Press Institute

Small/Medium Chapter Representative

Julia M. Chan
Writer/Producer-Special Projects, CNN

Small/Medium Chapter Representative

Nader Issa
Reporter, Chicago Sun-Times

Large Chapter Representative

Henry Fuhrmann
Retired Assistant Managing
Editor, Los Angeles Times

At-Large Chapter Representative

Benjamin Pu
Producer for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion,
NBC News

At-Large Chapter Representatives

Yuri Nagano
Editor, Bloomberg Industry

Advisory Board

The National Advisory Board is comprised of Chapter Board Representatives who are elected by their local members.

The Advisory Board advises the Board of Directors to ensure chapter interests are represented.


Aric Johnson
Recruiter & Adviser, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Arizona State University


Oanh Ha
Senior Reporter, Bloomberg


Willoughby Mariano
Reporter, Investigative Team
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution


Grace Wong
Reporter, The Chicago Tribune


Moni Basu
Professor, University of Florida College
of Journalism and Communications


Wes Nakama
Assistant Director of Information, Hawai’i High School Athletic Association

Los Angeles

Anh Do
Reporter, The Los Angeles Times
Hibah Samad
Anchor/Reporter, Newsbreak Live


Dorothy Hernandez
Writer, City of Detroit


Nancy Yang
Digital Producer, Minnesota Public Radio

New England

Daigo Fujiwara
Newsroom Web Developer, WBUR

New York

Emily Tan
Freelance Journalist & Photographer


Peter Wong
Regional Reporter, The Portland Tribune/Pamplin Media Group


Bobby Caina Calvan
Reporter, Associated Press

San Diego

David Jones
Producer, KFMB Stations

Justine Saldana

San Francisco

Cecilia Lei
Fifth & Mission Podcast Host/Producer, San Francisco Chronicle


Anika Varty
Morning Editor, Seattle Times


Lauren Hardie