AAJA’s 2023 Journalism Excellence Awards Are Now Open

Submit your work produced last year by FEBRUARY 28

The Asian American Journalists Association’s 2023 Journalism Excellence Awards are open for submissions. These awards will honor the best of journalism pieces by AAJA members in 2022. To view past winners’ work and apply, visit our awards website. 

Categories for submissions are as follows:

Journalism Excellence By Medium
    • Excellence in Written Reporting, News
    • Excellence in Written Reporting, Features
    • Student Excellence in Written Reporting
    • Student Excellence in Photojournalism, Single or Photo Story
    • Student Excellence in Audio Storytelling
    • Excellence in Audio Storytelling, News Feature
    • Excellence in Audio Storytelling, Long-form
    • Excellence in Video Storytelling, Short-Form
    • Excellence in Video Storytelling, Long-Form & Programs
    • Excellence in Online/Digital Journalism, Engagement
    • Excellence in Online/Digital Journalism, Data
    • Excellence in Online/Digital Journalism, Immersive Storytelling
    • Excellence in Photojournalism, Single Photo
    • Excellence in Photojournalism, Photo Story
Journalism Excellence By Subject
    • Excellence in Investigative Reporting
    • Excellence in Sports Reporting
    • Excellence in Science/Environment/Health Reporting
    • Excellence in Arts and Culture/Entertainment Reporting
    • Excellence in Political Reporting
    • Excellence in International Reporting
    • Excellence in Pacific Islander Reporting
    • Excellence in Business/Consumer/Tech Reporting
    • Excellence in Commentary/Op-Ed/Perspective
The deadline for all applications is Tuesday, February 28, 2023.

For any questions, please refer to our awards FAQ. If your question isn’t answered, reach out to support@aaja.org for further assistance. We’re excited to see your work! 

About AAJA Awards: 

The Asian American Journalists Association has honored excellence in journalism since 1987. The AAJA Journalism Excellence Awards are bestowed to members for thoughtful reporting, thorough coverage and strong storytelling. AAJA also honors members and organizations who champion the spirit of community through their chapter and affinity group leadership; their diversity, equity, and inclusion work; and through their life’s work. To learn more about awards, visit our awards website.


AAJA Announces 2023 Community Awards

The Asian American Journalists Association is proud to announce the winners of our 2023 Community Awards, which honor members and organizations championing the spirit of community through their leadership, mentoring,

Read More »

You Might Also Like