AAJA Announces Launch of 2022-2023 Scholarships, Internships and Fellowships

Apply for internship, scholarship and fellowship opportunities

We’re excited to open applications for AAJA’s scholarships, internships and fellowships in the 2022-2023 academic year today! Find the opportunity that is right for you. 

To view all opportunities for internships, scholarships and fellowships, please visit our scholarships and internships page and read through carefully to ensure you are eligible, as we have made changes and edits to the descriptions, application deadlines and application requirements. Apply for all opportunities here

Most applications are due by February 28, 2022, but please check each individual opportunity for their exact deadline. AAJA Sports Task Force scholarships are due by January 31, 2022. Internship grants (Lloyd LaCuesta, Sam Chu Lin, Stanford Chen and William Woo) are due on April 8, 2022. All applications are due at 11:59 pm PST of the deadline date.

The scholarships and internships page will be updated as we receive more information regarding partner and other external opportunities. Stay tuned and continue to look out for further opportunities in the new year. 

Judge AAJA Scholarships

We are also still seeking judges for our scholarships judging committee. If you are interested in volunteer judging for AAJA scholarships, please fill out this form by Jan. 1, 2022. 


We’re excited to see your work and award outstanding young journalists through these opportunities! If you have any questions, reach out to support@aaja.org and one of our HQ team members will get back to you. 


AAJA annually offers up to $20,000 in scholarships and grants to journalism students to help offset the costs of education, internships, living expenses and other opportunities. These scholarships are made possible by supporters such as AAJA members, allies and generous donors. 

Thank you to the following organizations and individuals for making AAJA scholarship opportunities possible. If you’d like to support AAJA scholarships, consider making a donation here.

    • ABC News
    • Al Young
    • Jennifer Azlant
    • Sewell Chan
    • Terence Chea
    • Amy Chen
    • Mae M. Cheng
    • Allen Cheng
    • Cynthia Chennault
    • Sei Chong
    • Judy Chu Lin
    • Linda Coburn
    • The Council for International Cooperation
    • Columbia Journalism School
    • Hannah Denham
    • Elizabeth Dierenfield
    • ESPN
    • Beth Erikson
    • Facebook Journalism Project 
    • Katharine Fong
    • Keerati Giratikanon
    • Vindu Goel
    • Joe Grimm
    • Tran Ha
    • Nancy Han
  • Cynthia Ho
  • Tuyen Hoang
  • Rosa Kim
  • Michael Kim
  • Roger Kuo
  • James Kwasnik
  • Lloyd LaCuesta
  • Nora Lyons
  • Regina Mack
  • Bhart Manwani
  • NBC News
  • Elizabeth Roberts
  • Dorothy Russell
  • Matthew Russell
  • Benjamin Seto
  • Martha Shirk
  • April Siruno
  • Hannah Tellambura
  • Enoch Tong
  • Michael Vance
  • Ani Vrabel
  • White House Correspondents Association
  • Esther F. Wu
  • Allie Yang
  • Don Yee
Discover other opportunities here.
Support our future AAPI journalists.

You Might Also Like