Student Leaders Selected for JCamp 2022

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Asian American Journalists Association (AAJA) has selected 25 talented students from high schools across the U.S. to participate in JCamp 2022.

The annual weeklong multicultural journalism training program, which celebrates its 22nd anniversary this year, will take place July 23 to 29 at the University of Southern California (USC) in Los Angeles. Students are able to attend the camp at no cost to their families thanks in large part to the support of donors such as the Annie E. Casey Foundation, Bloomberg Philanthropies and other generous sponsors.

More than 800 students have graduated from JCamp since the inaugural program in 2001. Professional journalists serve as faculty mentors throughout the week and provide students with hands-on training in writing, reporting, photography, broadcast and online media. JCamp instruction prioritizes the program’s core values: The importance of diversity in the newsroom and in media coverage; the value of cross-cultural communication skills, networking and media ethics; and the fundamentals of leadership, inclusion and collaboration.

“The pandemic has profoundly and negatively disrupted the lives of high schoolers of color more than nearly any other group. AAJA is honored to bring together this cohort of highly talented and ambitious students for an in-person experience that will enrich their personal, academic and professional lives,” said Waliya Lari, AAJA director of programs and partnerships. “Our JCamp students are the future of journalism, and we are so thrilled to welcome them to the AAJA family.” 

“After a difficult couple of years, JCamp returns to in-person training with a group of students who showed passion and commitment in their applications,” said Arelis Hernández, JCamp co-director. “It was a challenge to choose from a record number of applicants, but we are confident our 2022 class showcases the resiliency of their generation and humility of perseverance.”

Hernández, Texas correspondent at The Washington Post and a 2004 JCamp graduate, returns as the program’s co-director alongside Ben Bartenstein, Middle East correspondent at Bloomberg News and 2011 JCamp graduate; Timmy Huynh, photo editor at The Wall Street Journal and 2005 JCamp graduate; and Julia M. Chan, producer at CNN and 2003 JCamp graduate.

JCamp 2022 will coincide with AAJA’s National Convention, held July 27 to 30 in Los Angeles.

The volunteer faculty members include Terrell Brown, news anchor for ABC 7 Eyewitness News in Chicago and 2002 JCamp graduate; Paul Cheung, CEO of the Center for Public Integrity in Washington and former AAJA president; and Neal Justin, TV critic for The Minneapolis Star Tribune and JCamp co-founder. 

Additional support will come from Sandhya Kambhampati, data and graphics reporter at The Los Angeles Times and a 2008 JCamp alum; Kyndell Harkness, Assistant Managing Editor for Diversity & Community at The Minneapolis Star Tribune; Clea Benson, Managing Editor at Politico; and Richard Lui, news anchor at MSNBC in New York.

AAJA is proud to accept the following students to JCamp 2022: 

Felicity ChangOsprey, Florida (Pine View School)

Justin DiepOmaha, Nebraska (Bryan High School)

Grace Go – Mercer Island, Washington (Mercer Island High School)

Abyssinia HaileWilbraham, Massachusetts (Minnechaug Regional High School) 

Anabel Howery – Irvine, California (University High School)

Anisha IqbalSpringfield, Virginia (West Springfield High School) 

Mahi JariwalaDanville, California (Monte Vista High School) 

Eduardo KingstonKey Biscayne, Florida (Gulliver Prep) 

Yoon LeeBellevue, Washington (Lakeside School) 

Kelly LinSammamish, Washington (Eastlake High School) 

Katrina Machetta Houston, Texas (Klein Collins High School) 

Eshaan Mani – Sugarland, Texas (The Kinkaid School)

Allison Mi Ann Arbor, Michigan (Huron High School) 

Farrah-Adhan MuhammadSan Tan Valley, Arizona (Poston Butte High School)

Enoch Naklen – Brooklyn, New York (The Brooklyn Latin School)

Anjelina Nieto – Los Alamitos, California (Millikan High School)

Ila PrabhuramWoodstock, Georgia (Etowah High School)

Adán Tomas QuanEast Lansing, Michigan (East Lansing High School)

Hannah RamirezLa Puente, California (Mt. SAC Early College Academy) 

Jada SandvallSioux Falls, South Dakota (Lincoln High School)

Ahania SoniEvanston, Illinois (Evanston Township High School)

Elise SpennerBurlingame, California (Burlingame High School) 

Sheerea Xiran YuBrentwood, Tennessee (University School of Nashville)

Ashley Xue – McKinney, Texas (McKinney Boyd High School) 

Lisa ZivanicSan Jose, California (Cupertino High School) 



Media Contact:

Daniella Ignacio, Programs and Communications Coordinator, AAJA


Phone: (202) 729-8383

You Might Also Like