AAJA Pacific Islander Task Force Announces NAJA-AAJA Journalism Scholarship Recipients

The Asian American Journalists Association Pacific Islander Task Force is excited to announce  the recipients of the first annual NAJA-AAJA Pacific Islander Journalism Scholarship in partnership with the Native American Journalists Association

Amee Hi‘ilawe Neves is a University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa student pursuing a degree in broadcast journalism. She was valedictorian of Wai‘anae High School in 2022, and is passionate about amplifying stories about her Kanaka Maoli community. 

Sera Tikotikoivatu-Sefeti is a University of the South Pacific student pursuing a degree in journalism who also works as a freelance correspondent at Islands Business. She is passionate about telling stories about how climate change is affecting her home of Fiji.

Each recipient will receive $5,000 to support their journalism careers. The money can be used for tuition, student loans, or other journalism professional development and training. 

About The NAJA-AAJA Pacific Islander Journalism Scholarship

The NAJA-AAJA Pacific Islander Journalism Scholarship was launched in 2022 with support from The Omidyar Group and is administered by the Native American Journalists Association. The funding is intended to help Indigenous peoples of the Pacific, including Polynesians, Micronesians and Melanesians, pursue careers in journalism, especially in the U.S. and U.S.-affiliated Pacific islands.

The scholarship is part of the AAJA Pacific Islander Task Force’s mission to improve Oceania representation and storytelling in the news media industry. In addition to the funding, recipients will receive membership to NAJA or AAJA as well as complimentary registration to either the NAJA or AAJA conference

To support the journalism fund, or learn about how to apply in 2023, contact Sheena Roetman at sroetman@naja.com. The Native American Journalists Association is a 501c3 nonprofit and donations are tax-deductible.

You Might Also Like